20 Days of WoW Blogging – Day 03

Day 01 – Introduce yourself
Day 02 – Why you decided to start a blog
Day 03 – Your first day playing WoW
Day 04 – Your best WoW memory
Day 05 – Favourite item(s) in game
Day 06 – Your workplace/desk (photo and/or description)
Day 07 – The reason behind your blog’s name
Day 08 – 10 things we don’t know about you
Day 09 – Your first blog post
Day 10 – Blog/Website favourites
Day 11 – Bad habits and flaws
Day 12 – A usual day in your life/online time
Day 13 – People (players/bloggers) that you admire
Day 14 – This upsets you
Day 15 – Your desktop background (on your computer) and why you chose it
Day 16 – Things you miss (post Cataclysm)
Day 17 – Your favourite spot (in game or outside it)
Day 18 – Your favourite outfit
Day 19 – In your bags/bank
Day 20 – If this was your last day playing WoW, what would you do?

 

To be honest, I don’t really remember my first day in WoW. I got into it because a good buddy from high school played it and I thought it’d be a good way to chat with him every once in awhile. I do recall that while we were doing the RaF thing, he brought his dwarf hunter over to the Draenei starting zone to level with me (a Draenei pally) and while I understood some things (I’d played swg, age of conan, and eq2) I was still pretty lost. It probably would have helped if I had read the quest texts, but I was just trying to keep up with him. I remember that eventually I hit level 20 and got a mount (but not a sweet mount that required a quest 😦 ) and I was pretty excited about that. I wasn’t excited about trying to figure out how to heal (something I did a lot of in swg) and I didn’t want to deal with tanking, and in general, LFD was full of people I didn’t like. Oh well. It did get better, and I started a hunter myself which was a lot more fun. Still is since the hunter recently dinged 64 and the pally is still at 49 (where he’s been for 9+ months).

Lesson learned? Don’t play a class because you think it might be useful, play it because it’s fun. That’s a good lesson too, since one reason I am currently burnt out on tor is the fact that when raiding, I typically have to bring my tank (which I don’t enjoy a whole lot) or my healer. Considering I’ve healed all the content that tor has to offer (with another guild) outside of nightmare modes (think heroic version of heroic requiring what would currently be an ilvl of 520) and I can’t directly impact our success, since we seem to be limited by dps laid down on target or deeps being coordinated during mechanics. Anyways yeah, play what’s fun. Unfortunately for me, WoW wasn’t that fun compared to what I had in tor. Part of that was the very different game play, and part was the guild, which at the time, was not nearly as social as what I had in swg or how the guild is now.

Anyways, that’s my vague trip near memory lane.

